Retour à la savane

April 19, 2007

I have been bad: desultory, insouciant, and bad.

I have not only left things undone things which should have been done, but I have allowed myself to lie down in the cesspool of my self-pity and wallow.

Not least among these commitments which I have so cavalierly shirked is this very blog. Yes, I am both a shirker and a wallower. But no more. When I was rejected recently from every PhD program to which I applied, it occurred to me that I can no longer slide by on inborn talent alone. A minor reconciliation with my Protestant past must somehow take place, and I must learn to work.

So we have here a convenient practice – a daily reminder to hone my skills for now and for a later date. I promise that I’ll try to do better.

2 Responses to “Retour à la savane”

  1. Ortho Says:

    Thanks for the link Nathaniel. “Baudrillard’s Bastard” links back.

    I’m sorry to read about your PhD program rejections.

    I look forward to reading your future posts.

  2. Robert Says:

    Glad to see your back. Don’t be too hard on yourself. We can all be bad, wallowing shirkers from time to time 🙂


Leave a Reply

